Fuji XT-2

sharkman53

Hi, I am new to Fuji, my XT-2 will arrive on 9/12, I having been shooting with Nikon for a very long time so I am looking for some suggestions on the best resources to help me setup my new camera.  I am looking for information to help get me up to speed with shooting with this new system.  I am excited to become a Fuji user and look for to making amazing images.

Thanks for the help.

Every camera company has their own way of creating a user interface. Without a doubt, the fastest way to get up to speed is a comfy chair and the manual in one hand and the camera in the other. Try everything. No matter if you are just photographing the corner of the room, this is about camera operation, not photography. The more fluent you become with the new camera, the more fun you will have. I shoot both, and give a slight edge to Fujifilm over Nikon for logical design of controls and menus.

Reading the manual is the best place to start If you never have used a camera with a shutter speed dial and aperture ring on the lens for the setting basic exposure parameters. If you learned photography on old manual film cameras like many (some?) of us did, it will feel completely intuitive to you. 

My setup is as follows, this gives me everything I need at a button or in My Menu:

MY MENU

edit/save custom setting

wireless communication

movie af mode

mf assist

focus check

af+mf

release/focus priority

af point display

Q MENU:

Top row:

select custom setting

film simulation

grain

dynamic range

Second row:

highlight tone

shadow tone

color

sharpness

Third row:

flash function setting

flash compensation

shutter

self-timer

Fourth row:

image size

image quality

movie mode

mic level adjustment

Buttons on d-pad:

top = af mode

left = af-c custom settings

right = eye detection settings

bottom = drive settings

Top fn button = iso auto setting

Front fn button = preview exp/wb in manual mode