Distortion on car photography 50mm F1.0

Alex909

Hello, 

I'm very new to photography and Fuji X ecosystem, i had Sony a7iv with 35mm F1.2 for some months and then changed to XT-4 with 50mm F1.0
I shoot cars only 
Sometimes (most of times) i have strange distortions which i can't understand if comes from lens or something else. 

Cars looks like squeezed in width somehow and sometimes wheels looks like not round, almost ovalized.. 

It's my 50mm defected or there are prospective factors which I don't know?

thanks a lot

here for example the car looks like very tight or squeezed somehow

Welcome, dear visitor! As registered member you'd see an image here…

Simply register for free here – We are always happy to welcome new members!

10 hours ago, OzGordo said:

You have changed from a 35mm lens to a 50mm which forces you to change your perspective. Try a 35mm on the XT-4 and your shits should look like they used to. 

thanks, so this is regular 50mm behavior?  

18 hours ago, OzGordo said:

It’s not the lens itself, it’s the perspective that changes. A 50mm forces you to move back to get the same field of view so your perspective changes. 

thanks, so to take this shot without distortions I must move back?

You don't have distortions. Look at the ends of the exhaust pipes, and the wheels on the blue contraptions. They look perfectly circular to me.

If you want the perspective to seem right, you have to view your image from different distances depending on the lens focal length. You want the angle your eye sees between edges of the photo to match the real life angle between edges of the scene. If you do that, even the famous giant nose effect from close up wide angle portraits goes away.

1 hour ago, Astigmatism said:

You don't have distortions. Look at the ends of the exhaust pipes, and the wheels on the blue contraptions. They look perfectly circular to me.