Maximum Shuttter Speed Safe to use Image Stabilization

XtJerry

I read that on some cameras that a faster shutter speed using image stabilization can actually cause blurrier images that not using it.  If this is so for Fuji X series lenses, then what is the maximum shutter speed that it is safe to use image stabilization?  I assume that this could vary either with focal length or ...?

Jerry

I'm no expert, but I'd say this is entirely dependent on focal length and how you shoot.  And why would you be asking what's the maximum shutter speed you can use OIS?  Above a certain shutter speed, OIS isn't doing anything for you and is just draining battery life.

Nikon's OIS sensors operate at 1 khz so at any SS above 1/500 sec., in theory it would not help. In practice, if your vibration pattern is steady, IS might help at higher speeds, but it is a crapshoot.

I always turn it off t anything faster than 1/500.

Since it is unlikely that either Nikon or Fuji manufacture piezo sensors, they are likely very similar.

It's depending on the focal length, the shooting conditions and the individual photographer's ability to make a decision about when the point the OIS becomes a burden (as opposed to a feature) and should be switched off. A competent user will use these factors to make an informed decision about what OIS mode/setting to select (on/off, mode 1/2). That's also the reason why there is no simple auto on/off or auto mode. The camera can't make this decision, because it doesn't know all the factors. The user does, or at least he should.