x100s massively underexposing images. Faulty?

Hey guys,

New to the forum and new to Fuji cameras, but I'm looking for some advice.

I just bought a used Fujifilm x100s but am having nothing but trouble with it.

Before I get into the details of the issue, I just want to stress that I'm not a camera expert, but I'm not a complete noob either, and am comfortable shooting in manual and regularly do so using my Nikon DSLRs.

The problem I've got that is that the knowledge and understanding I've developed from using my Nikons doesn't seem to be transferable to this x100s. As you'll all know, the more you use a camera the more you develop a feel for what combination of ISO/Aperture/Shutter Speed to use in any given situation. I bought the x100s because I'd read it was excellent in low light conditions and easy to use. Well I'm finding neither of those things to be true.

Almost every photo I take is massively underexposed. If I change everything to AUTO then it's over exposed. The only time I seem to be able to get a reasonably-exposed image is by using an ISO settings of around 1600 which is way higher than I've ever had to use before. 

If you look at the following image you will see a demonstration of what I'm talking about:

comparison.jpg

This was taken this morning in my office in daylight. The top image is from my Nikon and the bottom my Fuji. I used ISO 500, F4 and 1/160th of a second on both cameras. ND is off (I made this mistake first but soon realised). Exposure compensation is set to 0 but irrelevant when shooting in manual and white balance set to auto. I appreciate that cameras have different tolerances and standards but I would expect the same settings on 2 cameras to produce relatively similar images. But my two are night and day.

So, is this camera faulty or am I missing something? It is a used one and the person I bought it from is a camera reseller so has no personal experience with this particular unit.