X-T20 Brand New: Locks Up, Can't Take Pictures

glum32

I'm just getting into photography, bought my first mirrorless today. Snagged an X-T20 kit with the 18-55mm from a local shop, and I was super stoked. The store is very reputable.

I was using the camera for a few hours tonight and it was fine, but then randomly after changing it to High Performance mode, I was using the touch screen to focus, and the camera locked up with the green focus light blinking with the LCD still working. Even flipping the on-off didn't shut down the camera, and I had to remove the battery in order to turn it off. Now the camera does this every time I even try to focus, whether it be pressing the shutter release or touching the screen. Sometimes the screen completely locks as well and other times the screen + sensor is still active but locked.

Nothing seems to resolve the issue: I have reformatted the SD card, reset all the settings I think I am able to, and nothing seems to change. I'm quite frustrated. I had updated all of the firmware (body + lens) before ever using the camera.

Any ideas on what the issue may be??? I feel like my best bet is to just bring it back to the store, but this was their last kit, so I'm pretty bummed.

Yeah... man this sucks. I think they might have another kit in the black color, which wasn't preferable for me. The store only gives store credit, so I'm kinda stuck. Had been wanting to support a local business. Holding out hope that they live up to their rep as far as customer service and crossing my fingers that the next kit from them has no issues.

A refund/replacement would obviously be ideal, but if that's not a viable option then get the store to send it to the local Fujifilm people for analysis and repair; once your camera has had the 'once over' from their Tech Gurus it should be up to standard.

Meanwhile, just as a general comment on dealing with camera retailers, I can imagine where a policy like this ...