xt10 lens advice

nladha

Good day, 

I have just bought an xt10 body no lenses.  I am new to the fuji X system and want to purchase a lens soon.  I typically shoot everyday happenings, my kid, travel, city/street etc.  What is an all around lens you would suggest? I would prefer to stay small and light ( i have been looking at the 18-55, 23 f/2 and 35 f/2) but need advise.  I am not a pro photographer at all, more of a intermediate I would say.

Thank you in advance.

For me it would be between the 18-55 and the 23. The 35 is a great lens, but if you're using it indoors you'll have to walk back a way to get more than just head-and-shoulders pictures of people in an average-sized room. The 18-55 is a great zoom lens, if zooms are your thing. It makes it super-easy to get a good picture from wherever you happen to be. Which brings us to the 23. Without a zoom, it makes you use your feet, and it makes you see that sometimes where you happen to be may not be the best place to get the best shot. Plus it's small and light. It would be my choice of the three. In fact, it's the lens that I have on my X Pro 2 most of the time these days

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Edited by Warwick

For me it would be between the 18-55 and the 23. The 35 is a great lens, but if you're using it indoors you'll have to walk back a way to get more than just head-and-shoulders pictures of people in an average-sized room. The 18-55 is a great zoom lens, if zooms are your thing. It makes it super-easy to get a good picture from wherever you happen to be. Which brings us to the 23. Without a zoom, it makes you use your feet, and it makes you see that sometimes where you happen to be may not be the best place to get the best shot. Plus it's small and light. It would be my choice of the three. In fact, it's the lens that I have on my X Pro 2 most of the time these days

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk