fuji x-e1 full spectrum issue

Hello,

I am new to photography as a job requirement so please bare with me. My department has an X-E1 that we just had full spectrum modified. The lens it has is a Super EBC XF 35mm 1:2 R WR 043 Fujinon aspherical lens. (whatever all those numbers mean, but there they are). I used this camera for taking 360 panormic views and we decided to have it converted for the IR/UV capability. 

I just got it back and am having a problem with it I cannot figure out. Long story short, the only way to take a pic is by leaving the lens aperture setting on the big "A" as well as the exposure knob on "A".   Any other setting, such as moving one of these to anything different such as the aperture to 16, etc,  or the exposure to any of the other numbers, the indicator lamp flashes orange or red. It seems to be inconsistent with this as well. Heres a break down of what happens:

If I turn it on while the aperture and exposure are both on A, the lamp sits there and flashes orange until I focus on an object and take a picture. Then the lamp stops blinking orange.

After that, if I turn it off and back on without changing those settings, the lamp doesnt blink and will take a photo.

If I then change either of those settings after that and while it is on, and then i start to press the button, the lamp will blink red. Once I turn the settings both back to "A", it will shoot just fine again. And back and forth...

I hope I provided enough info for a diagnosis, if not let me know and I will try to fill in the blanks. As it is, I would obviously like to be able to change the settings when needed, or is this normal after this kind of modification and I am stuck with the "A" settting. (which im not even sure what the A stands for..."

In talking with the company that did the mod, I don't recall being told of this limitation. I'm waiting for them to call me back which can take days.