Considering Capture One or Lightroom

MARRIEDGUY9

Hi, I'm VERY new to photography and Fuji.  I have an XT5 and I'm currently using Capture One Express.......and I'm very happy with my results.  I'm considering upping my game and getting the Capture One license or Lightroom.  I'm interested in the enhanced features offered by both and I'm not interested (at least not yet) in subscribing to multiple products.  I'm interested in sky masking for astro and I like to photograph wildlife in lower light and I'm interested to denoise options.  From what I've read/watched/etc., I'm under the impression that Lightroom is better at masking and denoise and Capture One is better at processing the Fuji RAW files/color/etc.  Am I correct with those assumptions?  Am I losing any appreciable image quality with Lightroom?  Thanks!

If you haven't bought into the Adobe ecosystem, and do not need the image management with lightroom (though it is very very good), then I'd suggest sticking with CaptureOne.  It does process Fuji RAW better than Lightroom.  As a sidenote, there's lightroom cloud (Lightroom CC) and lightroom classic.  There's an important distinction if you're going the Adobe path, as Lightroom CC does not take to plug-ins as well as Classic.  Personally, I use Lightroomclassic, WITH DxO Pure Raw3 and it's plug-in.  Imho, PureRaw3 is exceptional, and does an incredible job processing Fuji RAW files, far far better than Lightroom alone could.  As an alternate you haven't mentioned, Dx)'s PhotoLab 6 with Deep Prime XD is possibly even better than CaptureOne, but then again, this is a very subjective topic.  The benefit of Photolab is that you get really good file management tools, with the power of PureRaw3, all in one app.

I don't think you can go wrong with any of the three I mentioned.

Examples of what I get with it can be seen in my gallery here... http://www.palisoc.photo

Edited by Edp