How do you store your camera and lenses when not in use?

rickytj

I don't use them every day, probably just once every week. I know the basics like not putting them under direct sunlight or in high humidity, but I still want to know the details.

-right now I don't have a casing nor a bag (newly bought camera), and I just put them naked on the table beside my laptop but with no direct sunlight, is it okay?

-is it okay to put them beside my laptop? I'm just afraid my laptop can generate heat and electro magnetic fields that can damage the camera and lenses?

-should i put my camera standing (sensor facing sideways) or lying (sensor facing ceiling)? and how about the lens?

-when not using, should I always remove the lens and battery from the camera?

-should i always store my camera and lenses in a bag with a desiccant? and how often should I replace desiccant normally?

Again, my questions sound very noob... newbie here :D

Thanks all :)

I have my camera and lenses in a large camera bag, the same I use when I go out. If the bag protects my camera and lenses from the elements outside it will protect the camera indoors too.

I have always done this with cameras digital or analog for many many years. My home is not damp, in winter we have central heating. It is possible that people living in the tropics in a non air-conditioned house might need some desiccant... but I would not think this is common thing because your clothes and shoes would go moldy before your camera does and you would know your living quarters are not fit to have you or your camera there.

Seriously, even living in a boat or a caravan wouldn’t require you to have silica gel packs in your bag unless everything is covered with mold.

I have stored the camera sensor up or dow or vertical and I have yet to get dust on the sensor. I occasionally blow on the sensor with a blower while changing lenses. Never removed battery or lens.

Don’t worry too much it’s bad for your health. ;)