Optical viewfinder...are they really necessary?

Hi, I'm new to the Fuji - X - forum, but certainly not new to Fuji.

I have used fuji film since I first began my love affair with photography over thirty years ago, when I purchased my first camera - A Zenit ET, and then a Ricoh KR 10, Yaschica AF230, Nikon FM2 and then I fell in love with medium format and invested in a Mamiya 7. But through the years although I used many films from Agfa Scala B&W slide film to Kodachrome 64, Fujifilm was always my favourite, and as a lot of people here have mentioned, it's something about the colour; the saturation, the fuji 'hue' - there's no other film like it. Okay, so I'm digressing a little, but when I went digital, which took some time I have to admit after a bit of a slump in my interest in photography, I actually bought a Ricoh Caplio GX100 and a Nikon D90 - (the Fuji S5 Pro was always in the back of my mind, however) and I fell in love with photography again. I have allways liked to be a little different from my photography peers...using Light Craft's Lightzone instead of Photoshop, and so then, I bought the Fuji X100 and wow, it is stunning...sometimes bloody annoying to use...slow autofocus, awful manual focus, etc, etc, but the colours and the filmic quality of the images ( similar to the Ricoh), were awesome..I've just completed a magazine of family holiday 'snaps' purely taken with the Fuji.