external 3.5mm microphone not producing sound

Advertisement (gone after registration)

Hi guys, I have a cheap lav mic with a 1/8" cable that isn't producing any audio when plugged in to the XT200.  I played with the mic gain settings in the camera's menu, but still no help. The built-in mic works fine but obviously would like improved audio quality.  Does this camera require a powered microphone to be used instead?  Anything I'm missing something as far as settings go?  Does something need to be turned 'on'? I'm new to the camera game and upgraded from my iPhone, which obviously was working with this mic w/o any problem.  

Thanks in advance!  

• 7 months later...

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.
Note: Your post will require moderator approval before it will be visible.

Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.

• Similar Content

• By BenIndigo
      I just got a new X-S10 and after about 4 days of use it started making an audible whirring sound when on. It's loud enough to hear at an arms length and makes too much sound for use with a hotshoe mounted mic. I've tried turning off the IBIS and autofocus and nothing seems to stop it. I am using the 16-80 predominantly but it also makes the sound with an old manual lens. The sound stops when in playback mode. I tried updating the firmware to the most recent which has not solved the issue.
      Does anyone have any ideas or should I just exchange it?

Thanks,
    • By Gareth 32