First impression of the Fuji X-T10

Shotage

Hi everyone.

First post here :-)

I'll probably not add to the many camera reviews out there, but just wanted to share my first impressions of the X-T10 and a few images from it.

Firstly, my history is that I started shooting with an X-Pro 1 pretty much when it was first released, having switched from a Nikon D700 set up. I then purchased an X-E2 because I wanted to take advantage of the new hardware upgrades and needed a spare camera. X-E2 was my first choice most of the time but would sometimes switch back to use the X-Pro1 when it was appropriate. The X-Pro1 for me still has something special.

Like most people I have got a little bored with waiting for the new X-Pro 2, it's been a long time now. I was weighing up whether to get myself an X-T1 or X-T10 and to be honest it's really an interim camera for me until the X-Pro 2 comes out and so the X-T10 won!

First of all I found it a little difficult to get used to having shot with the X-Pro and X-E for a long time now...

Mainly I found the viewfinder in the middle to be odd, I must be instutionalised!! Obviosuly that is not a fault, I just need to adjust and I'm sure it won't take too long.

The X-T10 is small and I found when holding and using the camera that the thenar part of my hand kept pressing the right direction button on the reverse of the camera. This was assigned to flash mode and it was a little annoying. I have now set that function button to do nothing. Fortunately I have enough other function buttons for all of the regular things I need. Other than that I have found it pretty good to hold and use, once you have the function buttons assigned to what works best for you.

For me, I love having the pop-up flash, this was a benefit of the X-T10 over the X-T1.

It does feel odd having a mirror prism hump on these cameras, but at least it does serve a purpose of sorts, it contains the electronic viewfinder and in the case of the X-T10, also the flash.