Biking Provence Gear Advice

rheistand

Hi all, 

I am relatively new to photography and am not a cyclist however I'm going with a few people to bike Provence France in September (Backroads is the company).

If anyone is a cyclist or knows the region I'd appreciate the input. I'm thinking of getting a small lopro for the biking( we'll cover 20-35 miles a day), you can ride at your own pace, stop and take pics etc. and there will be time in the villages in the afternoon to walk around and explore. 

I just don't want to put too much on my back thinking it will be cool and find out I was wrong.  I'm in my early 30's and reasonably fit but still.

Ive got the x-t1 23,35, 56 primes. I plan on buying a lens or two prior to the trip as I know bringing a bunch of primes isn't practical and I don't yet own a wide angle lens which I know I'll need.

Some standard landscapes( although I like adding close up subjects sometimes with shallow depth of field), villages, landscape portraits of my friends, pics at dinner in tight space, would cover what I'll shoot. I'm not touring Europe other than a couple days in Germany so no cathedrals etc.

I would take a wide angle, like your 23 for the landscape followed by the 18-55 for the rest, if bokeh is your goal, you won't have any more practical zoom.

Or if you have the budget for it, get the 16-55 F2.8, it's weather sealed but NOT stabilized. It can be rather expensive but depending on where you live, you might still have the cash back promo running until the 30th of July.

That lens is large, but with I do not think you would need much else and the bokeh would be sufficient enough for most shoots, it's wide enough for landscape and stays open nicely even if the light drops some more. Maybe take either 23mm or the 35mm for that F1.4 for low light capability. Either one is small enough to fit with the camera, the 16-55 into the travel bag.