90mm f/2 vs 85mm f/1.4 vs ???

jamesbernard

Hey there friends, I am a long time Nikon shooter and a very new Fuji X convert.

I am currently working with a x pro 1 and a 35mm and an x100t with a TCL, but as a portrait photographer I need something with some more reach. The 56mm is definitely on my radar buy I'm also looking to purchase a 90mm f/2 or a Rokinon/Samyang 85mm f/1.4. I have used the 85 on my Nikon D3s and I love it, but if anyone has any experience with both lenses and wants to offer some advice or shiw a comparison it would help me out greatly. Thanks so much for reading and I look forward to getting to know all of you in the FXF community.

The 56mm is definitely on my radar buy I'm also looking to purchase a 90mm f/2 or a Rokinon/Samyang 85mm f/1.4. 

That's strange to compare 56 vs 90. I need both for different purposes. So choose the focal length first and consider 56 STD (unofficial standard version name) vs 56 APD or 90 vs 85. Better both). IMO even 56mm STD and APD versions are different purpose. If I have a load of money I would have both. APD is better for stills outdoors in daylight while STD is better for fast shooting and low light scenarios. I have STD due to it's versatility.

For long reach I use Nikkor 105/2 DC. It's great lens but I have hard times not to waste my frames with out of focus pictures as the DOF is really shallow. With an AF lens I usually refocus quite often to be sure to be in focus all the time but with MF lens I forget to do this sometimes. Moreover even though my X-T1 features large EVF and great MF assistance, it's not that easy to focus that precisely. X-Pro1 is even worse due to worse MF assistance and smaller EVF. Thus with a long fast lens like these I would recommend to take an XF 90/2 due to it's AF ability. I've tried it in a local store and have seen many samples and I'm sure it's a fantastic lens. I can't sell my Nikkor until march 2016 but as soon as this date comes I'll switch to 90/2 immediately.