Continuous Focus and Locked Exposure

Starkman

Hey all.

Still getting familiar with my X-T10. The issue now is when I try to use continuous Focus mode (pressing and holding the shutter button half way), I can't do so without locking in the exposure, which isn't something I want; the exposure, obviously can change as the subject moves.

Not sure if this can be gotten around.

Thanks.

Depending on what where you are shooting, I can't imagine exposure changes that much.

However I've just tested.

With the focus switch set to AFC, half button pressed, changing Aperture/Shutter speed adjusts the exposure accordingly (I didn't expect it not to, but i've never tried before)

Edited by Tikcus

That's a reason back-button focus is so popular. Use the back button to operate autofocus, and the shutter half-press for AE-lock.

I have to say, though, that (in my opinion) using AF-C on an X-T10 is a bit masochistic. The X-T10 just isn't built for subjects that move -- the AF-C, burst buffer, and video capabilities are noticeably weak. The X-T20 made huge strides in those areas. The X-T20 also has an option called Shutter AE that allows you to disengage AE-lock from shutter half-press.

Thanks guys.

Well, as to the use of AF-C with the X-T10 being masochistic, hek, I've only sliced both wrists twice and attempted to hang myself once. Not bad, considering!

As expected, using just the shutter button locks in the exposure (on AF-C); hence, as you said, Doug, back-button focusing is better here. My problem was that even using back-button focus I couldn't get the AF-C to work but only once in a while. And then I figured out why.

I wasn't just trying to track things, I was also trying to move the camera from it's initial focused area to another area to see how the focusing would react. The camera wouldn't respond most of the time, which, okay, I get it: "Hey, give me something to track or shoot in single focus, idiot!" Got it.