Colors on iOS...I must be missing something

dbr.ro

I'm new to photography so please be patient with me if this has already been discussed elsewhere. I've really scoured the internet to find an answer to this and, though the discussion on color management is prolific, I can't get an answer to this scenario...I must be missing something.

When I shoot jpegs (with the sRGB color) on my XE2s and then try to send them to my phone, they look horrible - cooler, overexposed, and lose the comparative look I see in my camera. This is similar on my computer as well - if I first import them to my color calibrated mac then put them on the phone for instagram or sharing the same thing happens. This adds a step between the camera and iOS, but the main problem I don't understand is: Why, if I'm using sRGB from Fuji does it change the color on iPhone, which I understand to likewise be sRGB?

Thanks for any input you could give.

Edited by dbr.ro

Well, for one thing, the screen on your iPhone is much higher quality than the LCD on the camera. The screen on the iPhone is also pretty well-calibrated to sRGB by Apple. The screens on FujiFilm cameras, AFAICT, are not calibrated at all. Not even the LCD to the EVF. However, you can tweak the the settings a little bit... Brightness and saturation only. I find turning the saturation and brightness down on the camera displays helps get a more accurate impression of what the image will look like on a calibrated display... But it's an impression only.

As to the 'overexposed' part, you probably have the brightness on your screen turned up much too high (if you left it at the defaults or on auto brightness). Most modern smartphones have blindly bright backlights designed to make them usable in broad daylight.

Edited by kimcarsons