overheat xt2

felixmo

hei guys i have some trouble in my gear fuji xt2.im a beginner to use fuji xt2. yesterday i try to record a video in Full HD for 10-15minute my gear gonna be overheat. i

dont know why? can be caused by a memory that I use?? :o i use sandisck ultra  80mb/s SDXC-I 64Gb. 

and whether two slots memory must be use all?

That’s why the camera comes with new batteries and the huge grip, to prevent overheating thus creating the contradiction in terms of a small camera ( one of the characteristics of  mirrorless cameras is size and weight) which needs a huge accessory ( the grip) in oder to do what this camera is supposed to do better.

Continuous shooting and Filming.

My guess is that it is due to your SD card. It is a typical mistake though (blame marketing): the 80 MB/s is read speed, write speed is a minimum of 10 MB/s (C10). Only the Extreme series have a higher bitrate, 60 MB/s write for the 90 MB/S read version and 90 MB/s write for the 95 MB/S read version. You can find the different models on the Sandisk website here. Note how the write speed is only mentioned for the extreme models, trying to fool everyone.

According to the specifications on the Fuji website, the Fuji X-T2 has a max 100 Mbps bitrate for full-HD and 4k movies. It also states UHS class speed 3 is required. Difference in SD card types can be found here. You basically need a 30 Mb/s write speed card (UHS-3), which for Sandisk means an Extreme series card.

• 3 weeks later...

I have overheating issue with my XT2 during 4K 30P record mode.  Camera will overheat and stop recording and shutdown after about 18 minutes of consecutive recording.  I don't think it's the memory card as I've used the SanDisk Extreme Pro which meets the published Fuji recommended specs for 4K recording. 

No overheat problems with 1080 HD mode.