• Please log in to reply
6 replies to this topic

#1 burgsports

burgsports

• Members
  • Pip
  • 6 posts

Posted 13 September 2016 - 02:24 PM

Advertisement (Gone after free registration)

I'm not sure if anyone is shooting high school (American) football with their Fuji cameras, but I have been for a few years. I shot my first game Friday evening with my new X-T2 and boost grip. Even though it was my first attempt with the camera, I had way more keepers than I ever had with my X-T1.

I was using Zone AF (3x3) centered. I was very pleased with the very short shutter blackout, as this was my major issue with the X-T1. Being able to quickly jerk my camera around to a player and have the focus lock on was awesome as well.

Here are a few samples of tracking a running player: https://burgsports.s...uth/i-pHhTc4M/A

Now, if Fuji could just give us a 200 or 300mm 2.8 :)

#2 GilBarib

GilBarib

Advanced Member

• Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 35 posts
  • LocationQu├ębec City, Canada

Posted 13 September 2016 - 07:22 PM

Hi !

I gave a look at your Smugmug galleries, lots of nice pics and good action shots in there.

What type of light was the field lit with? I gave a look at some of the exif data, not that much with values like 1/1000 and 2.8 @ 3200.

The XF1.4TC work well to get you to 196mm with the XF50-140, at the cost of 1 stop of aperture, but in lower light like you had there it's not always the best solution.

Now with the X-T2 Fuji has a very efficient body for sports and action, but li it's in need of good fast tele lens !!

So I'm really with you on the 200 or 300mm. f/2.8.... or even f/2.0 as far as the 200 is concern, that would be a nice solution with the two TCs, 280mm f/2.8 with the 1.4x and 400 f/4 with the 2x.

Keep up the good work !!

Gilles

Edited by GilBarib, 13 September 2016 - 08:41 PM.

#3 burgsports

burgsports

• Members
  • Pip
  • 6 posts

Posted 13 September 2016 - 09:11 PM

Thanks Gilles...