Clicky

Jump to content


Photo

SilkyPix V7 Pro

SilkyPix X-Pro1 Post-Processing

  • Please log in to reply
19 replies to this topic

#1 adzman808

adzman808

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 338 posts

Posted 29 May 2016 - 10:55 AM

Advertisement (Gone after free registration)

I've been personally testing SilkyPix V7 Pro lately, and once I got my head round the quirks, I've really been enjoying the photos it makes!

 

When used in conjunction with my X-Pro1, I find that I can get quite a pleasant (to my eye YMMV) 'filmic' look to the images.

 

Here's a couple I liked enough to put on Flickr

 

26632303474_632c550abc_b.jpgThe Follower by Adam Bonn, on Flickr

 

27242217235_48fb53ca6d_b.jpgLow Lights by Adam Bonn, on Flickr

 

The second one got explored, so I guess the flickr bots liked it too!! :D

 

 

To begin with I found the images SLIGHTLY flat compared to C1 (I don't really use LR)

 

Attached File  XPRO4009.SP7.jpg   603.3KB   25 downloads

 

But it wasn't a big problem

 

Hmmm I don't seem to be able to upload any other files... I'll try in a reply!

 

 

 


  • Curiojo likes this

Cheers, Adam
My Website, home of the largest X-Pro series opinion piece on the 'net:
http://adambonn.com/


#2 adzman808

adzman808

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 338 posts

Posted 29 May 2016 - 10:58 AM

Attached File  XPRO4254.SP7.jpg   412.91KB   23 downloads

 

I found that using the H/S sliders and contrast got me the look I wanted!

 

Attached File  XPRO4244.SP7resize.jpg   586.31KB   25 downloads

 

Shadow and highlights tools are perfectly reasonable and functional IMO...

 

 


  • Curiojo and Isero like this

Cheers, Adam
My Website, home of the largest X-Pro series opinion piece on the 'net:
http://adambonn.com/


#3 adzman808

adzman808

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 338 posts

Posted 29 May 2016 - 10:59 AM

I'm not obsessed at all with sharpness....

 

Attached File  XPRO4239.SP7resize.jpg   814.49KB   22 downloads

 

But in SP it's pretty good IMO, and (more importantly to ME) micro contrast is decent

 

 


  • Curiojo likes this

Cheers, Adam
My Website, home of the largest X-Pro series opinion piece on the 'net:
http://adambonn.com/


#4 adzman808

adzman808

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 338 posts

Posted 29 May 2016 - 11:00 AM

from the above shot

 

Attached File  XPRO4239.SP7crop1.jpg   971.04KB   21 downloads


  • Curiojo likes this

Cheers, Adam
My Website, home of the largest X-Pro series opinion piece on the 'net:
http://adambonn.com/


#5 adzman808

adzman808

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 338 posts

Posted 29 May 2016 - 11:01 AM

from the above shot

 

Attached File  XPRO4239.SP7crop2.jpg   928.92KB   19 downloads

 


  • Curiojo likes this

Cheers, Adam
My Website, home of the largest X-Pro series opinion piece on the 'net:
http://adambonn.com/


#6 adzman808

adzman808

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 338 posts

Posted 29 May 2016 - 11:07 AM

SilkyPix gets a 'bad rap' amongst a lot of Fuji users,

 

But it's worth (IMHO) remembering they are Fujifilm's software partner....

 

Of course that doesn't mean it HAS to be good, but it should mean that Fuji share demosaicing info with them, and they can implement this into their products

 

FWIW, I'm glad I gave SP7 a try, and I'm please with the results in context of what I like, what I shoot etc

 

Of course YMMV

 

But I think it's worth mentioning that there are other choices out there!!

 

Attached File  XPRO4268.SP7res.jpg   414.02KB   18 downloads

 

Attached File  XPRO4291.SP7res.jpg   417.97KB   19 downloads

 

Oh and in case you're wondering.... NONE of these shots used a Fuji Film Simulation!!

 

Thanks for looking!


  • Curiojo, Sator-Photography and karin.gottschalk like this

Cheers, Adam
My Website, home of the largest X-Pro series opinion piece on the 'net:
http://adambonn.com/


#7 Dalojan

Dalojan

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 3 posts

Posted 22 June 2016 - 08:30 PM

Hi Adam,

 

I agree with you, Silkypix should be able to produce very good results. Only bad thing is that Fuji only offers a very old version of Silkypix wile there have been a lot of updates and newer versions. I'm still at version 6.0.25 and tis is far better compared to the version dowloaded from the Fuji website. I like to give version 7 Pro a try. It is very different to Lightroom but the results are as good and sometimes superior. But it took some time to get used to the way it works.

 

Jan


  • adzman808 and Curiojo like this

#8 Jimesl

Jimesl

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 1 posts

Posted 03 July 2016 - 05:18 PM

Does SilkyPix support 10 bit color displays? I've invested in a system, including monitors, graphics card, OS (win v10/ 64 bit), which do. But I also understand that all links in the chain must support the standard, which means the application (SilkyPix in this case) must as well in order to take full advantage of the capabilities of the system.

#9 tsims10s

tsims10s

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 3 posts

Posted 07 December 2016 - 02:09 AM

After using Lightroom and Capture One for several years, I have just purchased Silkypix 7 Pro and I'm having a wonderful time with it. Each day I learn something new about it that helps me understand it a little better. For my Fuji XT2 files it is very refreshing.


  • karin.gottschalk likes this

#10 Chucktin

Chucktin

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 111 posts

Posted 07 December 2016 - 05:51 PM

I tried the free download over the weekend. Couldn't find how to save an RAF file in another format!
Not enough utility in a converter that won't convert.

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SM-N900A using Tapatalk

#11 johant

johant

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 696 posts

Posted 08 December 2016 - 08:23 AM



I tried the free download over the weekend. Couldn't find how to save an RAF file in another format!


Yes, the user interface is not very intuitive. But the results are great, in my opinion.

#12 stillman3

stillman3

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 5 posts

Posted 09 December 2016 - 03:58 AM

I tried the free download over the weekend. Couldn't find how to save an RAF file in another format!
Not enough utility in a converter that won't convert.

 

If I have read your problem correctly its under the Development header. One Scene Development (Shortcut Ctrl+S) This gives you jpeg, tiff or other formats. Adam Bonn, a member of this forum has a fantastic four part series of articles on using RFC.

https://adambonn.com...2-thirty-seven/

This has all the information you could need to come to grips with the software.

Good luck

Eric


  • adzman808 and karin.gottschalk like this

#13 Chucktin

Chucktin

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 111 posts

Posted 09 December 2016 - 11:08 AM

I need to sit down with the converter open on a laptop and Bonn's article open on a tablet.

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SM-N900A using Tapatalk

#14 adzman808

adzman808

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 338 posts

Posted 11 December 2016 - 12:04 PM

If I have read your problem correctly its under the Development header. One Scene Development (Shortcut Ctrl+S) This gives you jpeg, tiff or other formats. Adam Bonn, a member of this forum has a fantastic four part series of articles on using RFC.

https://adambonn.com...2-thirty-seven/

This has all the information you could need to come to grips with the software.

Good luck

Eric

 

Thank you Eric


Cheers, Adam
My Website, home of the largest X-Pro series opinion piece on the 'net:
http://adambonn.com/


#15 adzman808

adzman808

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 338 posts

Posted 11 December 2016 - 12:13 PM

I need to sit down with the converter open on a laptop and Bonn's article open on a tablet.

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SM-N900A using Tapatalk

 

SP (RFC one and V7) can render to both .Tiff and Jpeg

 

For a single rendering

 

Attached File  rfc-s.JPG   88.82KB   11 downloads

 

Click this icon (or ctrl-s in windows)

 

To reserve images for batch development (for example as you review and edit them)

 

Attached File  rfc-br.JPG   88.72KB   9 downloads

 

Click this button (for each image)

 

Once you have selected the images (which you can also do from the thumbnail view)

 

Attached File  rfc-bs.JPG   61.44KB   8 downloads

 

Click this button

 

and all the images that have a little tick on them will be "developed"


Cheers, Adam
My Website, home of the largest X-Pro series opinion piece on the 'net:
http://adambonn.com/


#16 Chucktin

Chucktin

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 111 posts

Posted 11 December 2016 - 12:17 PM

That's confusing. To me, an old wet-lab rat, "Develop" does not translate as Convert & Save-as.

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SM-N900A using Tapatalk

#17 adzman808

adzman808

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 338 posts

Posted 11 December 2016 - 02:58 PM

That's confusing. To me, an old wet-lab rat, "Develop" does not translate as Convert & Save-as.
Sent from my SAMSUNG-SM-N900A using Tapatalk


Think of it as developing a digital negative.

And the keyboard shortcut for doing that, crtl+s is pretty generic

Cheers, Adam
My Website, home of the largest X-Pro series opinion piece on the 'net:
http://adambonn.com/


#18 asathor

asathor

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 59 posts
  • LocationStuck on land too long.

Posted 21 December 2016 - 06:24 PM

You are all showing some very fine results with some very nice shots.

 

I just tried to download the latest LR from Adobe and the flaky installer/downloader kept abandoning me w/o useful error messages - I think it is an omen that I should try Silky Pix and Capture 1 while waiting for Iridient for windows.

 

About  the Silky Pix GUI - It is inconceivable that there is anything worse than LR out there. I own 5.5 and never learned to embrace the disconnect between file system and whatever it is that the program does.



#19 asathor

asathor

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 59 posts
  • LocationStuck on land too long.

Posted 24 December 2016 - 04:18 AM

Apparently I downloaded the SilkyPix 7 for the VERY visually impaired people, my one monitor is 2560 x 1440 the other 1920x1200 - Unfortunately the menus/GUI is sized for 1280x768 - that is everything is HUGE. This does not happen with v2 from Fuji or any other program. Does anyone know about this bug?



#20 Rauber

Rauber

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 3 posts

Posted 25 December 2016 - 11:58 AM

I started a thread with settings for the Raw File Converter EX2 that is based on Silkypix on dpreview: https://www.dpreview.../thread/4089863

 

I did some comparison between Lightroom, Irident Developer, Fujis Out of Camera JPEGs and EX2 there. I found EX2 a very capable solution that can compete with IR for sharpness and for colors with Fuji. So I decided to switch my workflow and use EX2 instead of LR.





Also tagged with one or more of these keywords: SilkyPix, X-Pro1, Post-Processing

 
x

Registration is free

Not registered? Really?

Discover the full potential of the Fuji X Forum... register now!
Registration is free and done in a few minutes!

As registered member you can discuss, post your questions and present your images.
And get in contact with Fuji X photographers worldwide!

We are looking forward to you!

The Fuji X Forum Team

Register Close