Fujifilm Professional Service

LP26

Let me begin by saying that I am a professional photojournalist with some forty years of experience in the field. I have worked on multiple continents and have had my images published in leading publications throughout this increasingly connected small world of ours.

For most of those forty years I have shot Leica and Nikon cameras and  I have never experienced the such an extreme discounting of professional needs until I purchased a Fujifilm X-E2. I also have an X-Pro 2 on preorder at the moment, an order I am strongly considering cancelling. My first X-E2 malfunctioned within two days. That camera was promptly replaced by the vendor. That replacement X-E2 ceased to function after four months. It has been returned to Fujifilm for repair or replacement. The response of Fujifilm's service department has been cavalier at best, informing me that I will get the camera back when they are good and ready to return it to me.

Needless to say, after four decades of exemplary responses from Leica and Nikon, I was more than a bit disconcerted by Fujifilm's response to the situation which has been "You'll get the camera back whenever we get around to sending it back."

I am left with the feeling that Fujifilm has little to no interest in serving the professional market, nor is it concerned with the quality of the cameras it offers.

As a professional journalist I am forced to determine that Fujifilm has little to no interest in meeting the needs of professionals, but rather an attitude reflecting reflecting a profound ignorance of professional users. I suppose that if their marketing folks have determined that professional needs are of little importance to their balance sheet then perhaps it's time to return to the professional relationships that are of value to companies like Nikon, Leica, and Canon.