Should I upgrade to an X-T1?

doroff

Let me give a bit of an explanation. I am looking to upgrade my current kit. Right now I'm using the XE1. You could say I'm a working amateur photographer. I primarily do performance photography and portraiture. So live music and theatre performances mostly, which is why I'm looking to upgrade. To be honest the XE1 dosent quite cut it anymore and I believe I need my gear to be a bit faster.

So I'm torn as to what upgrade to make, an XE2, a XT1, or wait for the XPRO2 if it ever comes. Being that the XT1 is recieving an update to the firmware for its autofocus abilities I am leaning towards it. My only concern is that the components between the XE2 and XT1 are almost identical. Does anyone think the XE2 will be getting the same firmaware update? Seeing as they share the same processor and parts. I just would like to invest wisely in my purchase and if the XE2 is going to have the same capabilities as the XT1 I would prefer to save the money as I don't need the weather sealing.

Then I could always wait for the XPRO2 (i prefer the body style too...) So that's my question, is the XT1 worth the extra money for the update? Or should I settle for the XE2?

I think if absolute AF performance is the most important to you, then maybe Fuji or indeed CSC in general, isn't the best system for you.

That said, imHo the XT1 offers enough over the XE2 in terms of features, build quality and getting FW updates to justify buying it